top of page

As multimedia composer

Arrels is a suite for cello, voice, animation, fixed media, live electronics & live subtitles premiered in Hamburg 2022. 

An immersive circular set up with 40 tablets doing spatial audio coordinated with octophonic on the room, lights and slow frame animation, as if I drawed for each of the audience.

A poetic intime war suite where surviving is based on communication and collectivity.


Arrels team:

Director, composer and performer : Carmen Kleykens Vidal

Light designer and technical team: Victor Ernesto Gutierrez Cuiza

Network and technical team: Alicia Reyes

Network and technical team: Lucas Xerxes

Costume design: Loïs Heckendorn

Co-Regie: Viola Mignon Bierich

Dichotomia Tactus is a collaborative project developed by multimedia composer and performer Carmen Kleykens  Vidal and the contemporary pianist and researcher Carolina Santiago.

It consists of a series of compositions for piano and multimedia to resignify the pianist's gesture.

Through different setups and softwares as the Light Wall System (LiSiLoG), sensors and electronic sound, the artists create a concert programme based on deconstructing the musical gesture in the piano.

Dichotomia Tactus reflects on the relationship between listening and touch and the dichotomy between these senses. It is manifested through a game of dualities: light vs darkness, visible/invisible, audible/inaudible, corporeal and ethereal.

What exactly are we listening when we see a pianist?

To what extent we adjust our perception to a preconception of the reality?

Concert programme 

Evasión del tacto
For piano, Light Wall System and fixed media

Evocación del tacto (WIP)
For piano, sensors, fixed media, lights and video

Impromptu #01
For piano, live electronics and live 3D piano model video

Captura de pantalla 2023-02-10 a les 19.53.40.png
Captura de pantalla 2023-02-10 a les 19.53.47.png
Captura de pantalla 2023-02-01 a les 17.14.45.png

T1TGA  (The 1 that got Away) - WIP;

for performer, MoCap system, 3D Environment & 3D Audio


Will be premiered on 18th February in Hamburg.


Work in progress from TXTGA project,


Concept, Composer & Cello : Carmen Kleykens Vidal

Text: Juan Ramón Jiménez [From his book “Eternidades”]

Translation: Raquel Subero 

MoCaP supervisor: Jacob Sello

Unreal supervisors: Jan Wegmann & Konstantina Orlandatou

Technical assistance:  Victor Ernesto Gutierrez Cuiza

Performance: Carmen Kleykens Vidal

Documentation: Bayaru Takshina

As electroacoustic composer

As improviser and cellist

Carmen Kleykens Vidal

Multimedia composer / Spatial Audio / Cellist / Improviser

bottom of page